Thursday, December 15, 2016

Kill Without Shame (ARES Security #2) by Alexandra Ivy



Goodreads Review
 
 
 
 
 
 
Five brave military heroes have survived the hell of a Taliban prison to return home—and take on civilian missions no one else can. They’re the men of ARES Security. Highly skilled, intimidating, invincible, and one by one, tested again and again…
 
Lucas St. Clair’s prestigious family had a political future neatly planned out for him—one that didn’t include his high school sweetheart, Mia Ramon. Under their pressure, Lucas gave her up. But since surviving captivity, he’s a changed man—and a crucial member of ARES Security. When he discovers a dead man clutching a picture of Mia that bears a threatening message, his fiercest protective instincts kick in, and he knows he must go to her.

Mia has never forgiven Lucas for breaking her heart, and she’s convinced her feelings for him are in the past. But it’s soon clear that isn’t true for either of them. Now, determined to solve the crime and keep Mia safe, with his ARES buddies backing him up, Lucas will have to reconstruct the murder victim’s last days—and follow a lethal trail that leads right back to the fate of the woman he still loves…




„This might be madness but there is nothing temporary about it“

There are a bunch of romantic suspense novels out there where former army buddies etc. have banded together and founded their own security company and Kill without Shame is no different. It is a standard formula that seems to work over and over again and here it was no different.

I liked this one more than the first book in the series even though it is about a second chance romance it didn’t diminish from the story and plot of the book whatsoever. The Hero did everything he could have done to make it up to the heroine and to be honest it is a justified reason why he did it.

Lucas St. Clair walked away from his childhood girlfriend to protect her. He also thought that his family would finally care. They didn’t. After spending five weeks in a Taliban prison you put into perspective to what becomes important. A neglected childhood, being an heir albeit an unwanted heir, but a heir non the less. Not so much. With all the money in the world it couldn’t buy Lucas happiness that is until Mia. The one that he let go and walked away from.

 So if you’re smart and an alpha male and you have the once in a lifetime opportunity to win back the one woman that changed everything. Would you go for it? Well Lucas does.

I enjoyed how he is so open about his feelings to Mia, that he explains everything. That he stakes a claim right from the beginning.

Mia Ramon had her heart broken but since then has been a successful business woman. All is fine until her childhood friend Tony is murdered as he has been on his way to Lucas has Mia is in danger. With all the heartache in her life she has managed to come out on top.

She doesn’t want to believe what Lucas tells her but he chips away bit by bit.

I would say that it is a cat and mouse game but the clues given are pretty big as to what is going to happen. But despite that fact I still enjoyed the book a lot.

I can’t wait for Tegan and Max to get their book. Well let’s face it Hauk as well. Oh and one Brian Cooper.
 


 


 

Tuesday, December 13, 2016

Naked in Death by J.D. Robb

Naked in Death by J.D. Robb

June 15, 2013
reviewed for
Jeri

Title :  Naked in Death
Author : J.D. Robb
Series : In Death, #1
Rating :  5 Stars

Blurb : In hardcover for the first time, here is the novel that started it all-the first book in J. D. Robb's number-one New York Times-bestselling In Death series, featuring New York City homicide detective Lieutenant Eve Dallas and Roarke. It is the year 2058, and technology now completely rules the world. But New York City Detective Eve Dallas knows that the irresistible impulses of the human heart are still ruled by just one thing: passion. When a senator's daughter is killed, the secret life of prostitution she'd been leading is revealed. The high-profile case takes Lieutenant Eve Dallas into the rarefied circles of Washington politics and society. Further complicating matters is Eve's growing attraction to Roarke, who is one of the wealthiest and most influential men on the planet, devilishly handsome... and the leading suspect in the investigation.

Review : I just loved it - it was the start of my addiction to Eve and all the people arround her.
I own all the books and re-read them often ...
   

Cliffhanger : (KLICK to find out) !!!

HEA? :       Series still continues


Beautiful Bastard by Christina Lauren

Beautiful Bastard by Christina Lauren

June 28, 2013
reviewed for
Jeri

Title : Beautiful Bastard
Author : Christina Lauren
Series : Beautiful Bastard, #1
Rating : 4 Stars

Blurb : An ambitious intern. A perfectionist executive. And a whole lot of name calling. Whip-smart, hardworking, and on her way to an MBA, Chloe Mills has only one problem: her boss, Bennett Ryan. He's exacting, blunt, inconsiderate—and completely irresistible. A Beautiful Bastard. Bennett has returned to Chicago from France to take a vital role in his family's massive media business. He never expected that the assistant who'd been helping him from abroad was the gorgeous, innocently provocative—completely infuriating—creature he now has to see every day. Despite the rumors, he's never been one for a workplace hookup. But Chloe's so tempting he's willing to bend the rules—or outright smash them—if it means he can have her. All over the office. As their appetites for one another increase to a breaking point, Bennett and Chloe must decide exactly what they're willing to lose in order to win each other.

Originally only available online as The Office by tby789—and garnering over 2 million reads on fanfiction sites—Beautiful Bastard has been extensively updated for re-release.

Review : How to Tell ...

This really is a Good Book / Great Story but it has One hughe mistake....

And that is the non consequent change of names....
So if your Story is a fanfiction by the Name of "the Office" it might be perfectly fine to Name the characters after stefenie meyers twilight!
But if you decide to go out their and make it a Real Book (and i think the Story very well deserved to be a Real Book) then you have to go Not only vor changing the Name of the Book - but you also have to change the name of your Book characters.

This only happend partly which left me wondering until the end WHY???
I actually catched myself checking who was missing and wondering why 3names didn't fit....
And in the back of my mind there was this small Voice asking all the Time "what's that all got to do with Twilight?"
So this whole thinking almost killed the Story for me until i agreed with myself to ignore the names and just Focus on the Story

So 4stars Form the Story and a Minus 1star for Not beeing able to give the Story a Chance to survive on its own!    


HEA? :       (KLICK to find out) !!!


Unteachable by Leah Raeder

Unteachable by Leah Raeder

June 28, 2013
reviewed for
Jeri

Title : Unteachable
Author : Leah Reader
Series : N/A
Rating : 5 Stars

Blurb : Maise O’Malley just turned eighteen, but she’s felt like a grown-up her entire life. The summer before senior year, she has plans: get into a great film school, convince her mom to go into rehab, and absolutely do not, under any circumstances, screw up her own future.
But life has a way of throwing her plans into free-fall.
When Maise meets Evan at a carnival one night, their chemistry is immediate, intense, and short-lived. Which is exactly how she likes it: no strings. But afterward, she can’t get Evan out of her head. He’s taught her that a hookup can be something more. It can be an unexpected connection with someone who truly understands her. Someone who sees beyond her bravado to the scared but strong girl inside.
That someone turns out to be her new film class teacher, Mr. Evan Wilke.
Maise and Evan resolve to keep their hands off each other, but the attraction is too much to bear. Together, they’re real and genuine; apart, they’re just actors playing their parts for everyone else. And their masks are slipping. People start to notice. Rumors fly. When the truth comes to light in a shocking way, they may learn they were just playing parts for each other, too.
Smart, sexy, and provocative, Unteachable is about what happens when a love story goes off-script.

Review : I received an e-arc for an honest review. Thank you for giving me that chance! Review might contain spoilers

Even for me as native german speaker it was easy to follow the well written story line

At first thinking the age difference between them was going to be too big i had little hope for a good ending . This made me hesitate in reading at first!
But the really good writing made me go on page after page ...
And I am happy I did.
I agree with other reviewers that M. point of view of herself is a little "bitter" in the beginning - putting herself in the middle of all the attention around her. But if we honestly try to remember us beeing her age - didn't we feel the same ? Like everybody only staring at you? (In a good or bad way - depending if you were/felt beautiful or ugly)

Cliffhanger : (KLICK to find out) !!!

HEA? :       (KLICK to find out) !!!





Sunday, December 11, 2016

Lost in Shadows (Lost, #2) by Anita DeVito


Goodreads Review


Private security entrepreneur Jeb McCormick is in over his head with his latest client. Not only is the painfully shy woman he’s meant to be protecting a total knock-out, she’s also his former Army buddy’s sister. Helping her find the reason why anyone would ransack her house is demanding enough, but keeping his hands off her is proving to be the real challenge.

Carolina Walker wants a quiet life, thank you very much. She left intrigue and deception behind in Washington D.C., never expecting it to follow her home to Bowling Green, Kentucky. When events happen that can’t be explained away, help arrives in the form of the very attractive and muscular Jebediah McCormick. But as the tension escalates between
Jeb and Carolina, so does the danger facing them
...



I have a problem with the Hero’s name.  Really unfortunate and maybe I am the only one that feels that names are important when it comes to characters in a book.
This is better than the first one but still….
I was just not feeling it.
But I was more invested in it then the first one although at some point it was hard to concentrate on the plot as I always felt there was too much going on. That I had to backtrack and reread.  The plot is good with some twists and turns that added some spice to the story.
The characters are well developed and I enjoyed their interaction with one another although there was some unnecessary drama which in my opinion wasn’t necessary.
I enjoy the author’s writing style and I think with each book she will get better in her story weaving.  There is a nice setup for the series to continue. Fingers crossed it is Beck although I would take Nate as well.




The Dead Come Calling (The Wraith Files, #2) by C.C. Wood



Goodreads Review



I'm Zoe Thorne and I speak to the dead. Unfortunately, dead isn't always synonymous with good-natured. In fact, most of the spirits I meet have dirty minds and a tendency to create mischief and mayhem.

For the past two months, I've been traveling with the cast of The Wraith Files, a paranormal investigation web show. Stony and Blaine are like the perverted, annoying brothers I never had. Our boss, Malachi Flemming, well, he makes my heart beat faster and my hormones dance.

During a break from filming, I've returned home to my resident ghost, Teri, an exotic dancer who died thirty years ago. I'm on a mission to find the man who murdered her and see that justice is served.

Preoccupied with my search for a killer, I'm unaware that something dark and twisted lies in wait for me. Not one, but two faceless entities intent on terrorizing me before moving in for the kill.

With unseen enemies shadowing my every move, it's time to discover how deep my abilities run. I need every bit of power I possess...or I'll be taking my place among the dead.

*This book contains a perverted ghost, two men who act like teenage boys, and lots of sarcasm.




SPOILER-ISH.
Something wicked comes this way…….
Zoe “the peculiar girl” Thorne is back home in Kenna, Texas after being on the road for a couple of months shooting the show The Wraith Files.
For once she is finally happy but just needs some well-deserved R & R. She has a family that accepts her for who she is and her relationship with her mom is also improving.
“Did my mom seem different to you?” I asked. “Oh yeah. She wasn’t as scary as usual.” I scoffed. “She’s not that bad.”” Jonelle shot me a sideways look. “You’re kidding right? Your mom would make the Third Reich tremble in their boots,” she retorted.
In book one we meet Teri, Zoe’s resident ghost, former stripper a funny, horny barrel of laughs full of mischief with a zest for life. After 30 years Teri has womaned up and wants to find out who killed her. It’s harder than it sounds due to the lack of digital files Zoe is unclear where to start.
Unknowingly at the same time of hunting down Teri’s murderer someone is out to hurt Zoe. They can’t figure out the what, who, and the why though. Zoe wakes to a full living nightmare where some kind of black oily clouded entity is trying to kill her. She couldn’t stop it but Teri saved the day.  This makes for a creepy read in some places or maybe I’m overly sensitive.
Mal comes to the rescue and also points her in the right direction. Teri’s murderer did a lot more damage than they first thought. I would have liked to have seen this case be put to rest somehow with the police. But I guess that is just me. Good things are happening a TV network is about to pick the show up they’ll gain major coverage.
Malachi and Zoe’s relationship develops. But although it is a slow development with sweet moments there is nothing hot and steamy that keeps you all bothered. What personally I would have liked to have seen is more of Mal. I feel as if we’re only scratching the surface when it comes to him and quite frankly that irritates me to hell.
“She called me a cock hopper again.” I nodded. “Fine,” Teri sniffed. “How about twatwaffle?” she asked. I twisted my head to glare at her with squinty eyes. She didn’t take the hint and needled me again. “Fuck truck? “How about Zoe’s best friend?” I asked. “Shit. Fine. I’ll call her Joblow, okay? That’s my final offer.”
Witch Coven from Fort Worth. Angela.
We find out more about what Zoe is and her abilities. Zoe is a necromancer. Magic similar to a witch’s but centered on death instead. You can call to them and control them and if legends are true bring them back to life. According to witch lore the last necromancer died a hundred years ago.
Ms. Wood is a highly underestimated author where she brings funny, unique and from pen to paper. Each character is individual and as a whole I’d loved to be friends with this bunch of crazy.
Book 2 in The Wraith Files and just as good as book 1 there is strong character development and a plot with twists and turns that keeps you sitting on the age of your seat. In this case you really shouldn’t judge a book by its cover.
I’m not going to give anything away the ending but it was epic and I would have been upset if Zoe hadn’t been able to fix what happened. I can’t wait to see how this series develops and what is in store for us next. Especially with a Witch’s Coven now included.





Reborn (Princess of the Blood #1) by Jane Ederlyn





Goodreads Review



Marie Josette d’Orgemont, cousin to Louis XVI, watched in horror as a rogue creature took her husband’s life before turning on her. A powerful vampire swept in and spared her life, but she never suspected surviving meant immortality or the price she’d have to pay to protect her surviving son.

Centuries later, in Miami, with her family on the verge of extinction, Marie is preoccupied with the continuation of her human bloodline. When she meets sexy and persistent Odin Ulfsson, his icy-blue gaze and burning touch are hard to resist. Will a forbidden romance with the Nordic werewolf be the key to her happiness, or will it set in motion a wrath that endangers not only her last human heir but her entire existence?
 



Not a fan of this fang.

This seems to be a good book it just didn’t work for me. I liked the premise of the book that Marie one of French royalty was turned into a vampire and since then has been obsessed with the continuation of her line.  Especially in urging her great, great, great granddaughter Abby to get pregnant.
In Florida and out one night, Marie recognises a werewolf and goes to see what is going on when she runs into some rogue wolves but are rescued by the pack that lives in Florida.
Odin is instantly attracted to Marie and so the vampire/wolf games begin. I found it hard to believe the chemistry that they had and everything is slow. Not that slow isn’t necessarily bad that this time it didn’t help. It led me to skimming.
There are back flashes between France, England and the present being Florida which added a certain depth to the story but it didn’t bring the pace of the book to keep me interested.
The plot is unique and I can see the appeal to why a lot of people like the book. It has the right amount of banter but that kick of suspense is missing.
Do not be swayed by my review to not read the book as this is just my personal opinion.






Saturday, December 10, 2016

Ghostdrums (Heroes of Coweta County #1) by Sherrie Lea Morgan


Goodreads Review


Marine Veteran, Marcus Lincoln, returns home after almost being blown to bits. His physical injuries are nothing compared to his mental state. He now sees the ghost of his best friend. In need of R & R he rents rooms from a landowner in small town Georgia. However, the landlord looks nothing like he imagined. Victoria Silvershade is a spirit seeker. She wants to start a foundation that will allow her to help spirits who have not crossed over. And it just so happens, she has her own troupe of ghosts residing in her home. To bring in money, she rents out part of her house to Marcus, but fails to tell him his new landlord is a woman. When her foundation sponsors begin to turn up dead, Victoria, Marcus, and their combined ghost family try to find the killer. But will they succeed before they become deceased themselves?


Not entirely sure how to describe this book.
Sitting on the tram yesterday I knew exactly what I was going to write for my review and sitting in front of my computer and the keyboard I have no idea.
It was an okay read for me. The author put a lot of thought into creating something unique and in this case it did work. I love myself a tortured hero and Marcus Lincoln is one but he starts to heal. It doesn’t help that he sees the spirit of his best friend who died in Afghanistan.  He rents a flat away from his family to deal with his issues.
Victoria Silvershade is a spirit seeker. She is currently setting up her own company to help those spirits that aren’t moving on but want to be heard. To help her out financially she rents out the rooms in her house to Marcus. Someone is out to sabotage Victoria’s business but Marcus helps her to get to the bottom of the situation.
I liked the eerie feel it had to it. But I felt as if the scenes were rushed and that we also jumped from scene to scene. The characters are well developed although they didn’t also have smooth interaction with one another but they worked it out in the end.
Sweet book and a nice filler for in between books.


Friday, December 9, 2016

OWNED by the ALIEN CAPTAIN by Addison Grey

 
Goodreads Review

 




FIRED!….DUMPED!! ...on the same day…fml. I thought things couldn’t get any worse. That was until I found out getting kidnapped by Alien Space Pirates was also possible. I thought life on Earth was hard and confusing. It turns out we had no idea what those words even meant. Earth problems just don’t seem to matter anymore when you're a slave on a pirate spaceship—when you are owned by Captain Vex. Washing grimy walls all day. Cooking their strange meals, pouring their weird smelling drinks. Getting leered at by a crew that keep saying they want to test out my "special human powers”. Why me? Why kidnap me? What makes me so special? Why does Captain Vex seem to fear me, pity me, and want me all at the same time. It would help if I knew whether to be afraid of him or just want him to take me. His powerful arms, his cut body covered in strange, glowing, tribal tattoos. He’s all trouble, but then again, so is everything else in this galaxy.

 
 
Sci-fi alien romance is one of my guilty pleasures. I really don’t know why but sometimes you just have to go with it. There is just something about out of this world heroes who are tough and alpha but also have a softer side.
Ms. Grey delivered this exact Hero which made the book a pleasure to read.
Trisha is having a bad day. So far she has been fired, dumped and the icing on the cake she is kidnapped and ends up on an alien space ship.
Trisha is the newest slave, ah member of the Black Orbit. Vex the Captain had her kidnapped out of very specific reasons this becomes clearer throughout the book.
At the beginning I was wondering what was going on and that this book gripped me but it started to fizzle out but then it picked up again. The book is well written and offers a lot of entertaining moments. Although for me personally there is a lot of inner monologue and a lot of information to process what with all the questions that are being asked and answered. But as a whole it is a strong and solid read from an author to keep an eye out for. I personally just wish I could have liked it more. With some romance novels it is hard to get the right balance so the book doesn’t come off as too cheesy. Ms. Grey achieved this very few can.
I liked the characters although Vex was a tough one to read at the beginning of the book but I really warmed up to him. Trisha is practical, and at sometimes far too sensible and takes everything really well. Far too well. But as a team they worked well together, they started out somewhat as friends after he stopped being an idiot. They are good together and complement one another.
If you like Sci-fi alien romance then I would recommend reading it.
 


 

Thursday, December 8, 2016

King of Hearts (Deuces Wild Book 1) by Irish Winters



Goodreads Review




Tucker Chase. FBI agent and tough-as-they-come ex-Navy SEAL, Tucker’s take-all-comers attitude attracts trouble on the job and off, but he still gets the hard jobs done. He makes no bones about being the baddest ass on the planet—until his ex-wife runs off to Vietnam with his only son, Deuce. Until the woman he won’t admit to loving leaves on some humanitarian mission to who knows where.
Until he has to ask for help…

Melissa McCormack. Widow to one of America’s finest USMC war heroes, Melissa is everything Tucker isn’t. Sophisticated. Wealthy. Respected. Don’t forget celibate since Brady, the first love of her life, passed away. She wants Tucker as much as he wants her, but she didn’t want to end up like that elite rifle he toted while he was a SEAL, the one he could field strip in his sleep without thought or care. The one he slung over his shoulder with all of his other weapons.
The one he took for granted…

 
This probably won’t make any sense so like me just go with it.
There is psychic abilities with implanted technology in the book. Not to mention that the Hero is aggravating. He doesn't like whining bitches you whined over pages of the book at the beginning.
You're a tough SEAL. Got to say though some of the things he came out with are craptastic. Let's steal a car in Vietnam great fucking idea there mate. Actually I take back the mate part I don't want to be your mate.
Hero gets arrested and what does he do? He starts doing push-ups. I burst out laughing cause WTH? Who comes up with this shit?
There are characters mentioned and previous plots from her other books are mentioned and that just irritated me even more than anything else. I had no clue to what the hell was going on.
We see how the couple take a break because the Hero just doesn't fucking listen. Because he's got some implant in his ear and a supersonic eye but then again what the fuck do I know?
Melissa takes a break from Tucker quite frankly I would have dumped his whiny bitch arse. They just happen to be in the same country? Oh please.
The heroine reminisces about the Hero I haven't even seen them together and I can't fucking stand them.
The writing style is just too much for me. A Hero should not call himself a bad ass. We the readers need to experience it to feel it. Everything is over the top. Basically you are asking me what this means?  That I am calling it quits @ 20%.
This is my opinion.  Read it for yourself. I haven't had an aversion to a book this much in a very, very long time.